Ripley Memorial Fund Hero | WFMN

Ripley Memorial Fund Logo

Enhancing the Health and Well-Being of Women

The mission of the Ripley Memorial Foundation is to honor the legacy of Dr. Martha Ripley by funding programs that foster and enhance the health and well-being of women. In April 2009, the Ripley Memorial Foundation became a donor advised fund of the Women’s Foundation of Minnesota.

Funding Priorities

The Ripley Memorial Foundation awards grants to direct service programs which focus on teen pregnancy prevention. Applicants may be located in either Hennepin or Ramsey counties. Priority is given to programs that employ best practices and serve populations experiencing the highest rates of teen pregnancy.

Apply for a Ripley Memorial Foundation Grant

Meet our 2018-2019 Grantee-Partners

History: A Visual Timeline, 1886-2008

Founded in 1957, Ripley’s grantmaking focuses on the welfare of women and children — a mission consistent with the interests of the Foundation’s namesake, Dr. Martha Ripley, a tireless advocate for professional medical care for both married and unmarried mothers and their infants.

Dr. Ripley spearheaded the establishment of Maternity Hospital in Minneapolis in 1886 and remained active in its concerns until her death in 1912. The hospital, later renamed Ripley Memorial Hospital, was the first city hospital to institute a social service department, to offer parenting and natural childbirth classes, and to permit infants to “room in” with their mothers.

When the hospital closed in 1956, its board voted to incorporate as the Ripley Memorial Foundation and to dedicate the funds realized from the sale of the property to grantmaking. In 1993, the Foundation narrowed the focus of its grants to support programs demonstrating an intent to prevent first or second adolescent pregnancies.

Read more about the Ripley Memorial Foundation ›

Subscribe to the Ripley Memorial Foundation mailing list
* indicates required
2019 Advisory Board

Gifty Amarteifio
Jen Aulwes
Gretchen Baas
Anne Betzner
Kristine Boedigheimer
Wendy Darst
Jill Farris
Nicole D. Foster
Aimee Hatlestad
Takara Henegar
Jennifer Levenhagen
Patty Schmidt
Megan Moore Smith
Rachel Speck
Becky Stroder
Laura Tompkins